Car accidents are nearly always unpredictable. When you are involved in one, you may be wondering whether you need to report the incident to local law enforcement or not. It was just a minor fender bender, so you can just exchange information with the other driver and deal with it later, right?
Well, not necessarily. Below, we discuss Colorado’s car accident laws and under what circumstances you are required to report a car crash to police.
Colorado Law on Reporting a Car Crash
Colorado law requires you to report an accident to the police if:
- There are injuries
- There is property damage
- The other person involved is not in a condition to exchange information
The law stipulates that “immediate notice” is required, so it’s always recommended that you call 9-1-1 immediately after the crash. Additionally, you’ll want to contact the police if the other driver flees the scene of the accident. Provide them with the make and model of the vehicle, any distinguishing features of the driver, and which way the driver fled.
Failing to report a car accident in Colorado is considered a class two misdemeanor traffic offense and could lead to penalties of up to 90 days in jail and fines of up to $300.
The Importance of Reporting a Minor Accident
Besides the legal penalties you may face for failing to report an accident, you can also jeopardize your potential insurance claim. For instance, let’s say you didn’t feel like you were injured when you were involved in a minor collision, so you simply skip the step of calling the police.
If you develop symptoms later on, you may have missed key pieces of evidence, such as a police report or witness statements, that the insurance company will require to pay out your claim. Here are a few other reasons why, no matter how minor the crash is, you should file an accident report with the police:
- The damage to your car may be worse than it actually appears at first glance.
- Police can interview and record witness statements that will be used as evidence.
- The police report will contain key facts that will be used to determine fault.
Injured? Get Help Today
If you have been injured in a Colorado car wreck, taking timely action is crucial. You should not wait to contact an experienced Boulder car accident attorney who can review your case for free and craft a personalized legal strategy on your behalf.
At Klein Frank, our attorneys come backed by over 60 years of experience and will do everything in our power to help you achieve the best possible outcome. Reach out to our team at (303) 448-8884 to schedule your free case review today!